Katy ISD Grading Policy

Katy Independent School District Grade Scale

Katy Independent School District has made significant changes to its grading policy, most notably by eliminating D grades. The revised grading scale is as follows:

F69% and below


Here’s an example of how to calculate a final grade using Katy ISD’s grading scale:

AssignmentWeightGrade (%)Weighted Grade
Final Exam50%90%45%

Final Grade: 84.5% (B)

Grading Policy

  • Elimination of D Grades: Grades of D are no longer assigned, emphasizing the district’s commitment to higher academic standards.
  • Grade Averaging: Semester grades will be calculated by averaging the two quarter grades.
  • High School Policy: High school students must pass their final exams to pass the course.
  • Middle School Policy: Middle school grading policy aligns with high school standards, ensuring consistency and preparation for higher education.


What is the new grading scale for Katy ISD?
Katy ISD now uses a grading scale where A is 90-100%, B is 80-89%, C is 70-79%, and F is 69% and below. D grades have been eliminated.

How are final grades calculated in Katy ISD?
Final grades are calculated by averaging the two quarter grades. For high school students, passing the final exam is also required to pass the course.

What changes have been made to middle school grading?
Middle school grading now follows the same standards as high school, which includes the elimination of D grades and the requirement to pass final exams.

Why did Katy ISD eliminate D grades?
The elimination of D grades aims to raise academic standards and ensure that students achieve a higher level of mastery in their subjects.

Where can I find more information on Katy ISD’s grading policies?
For more detailed information on grading policies, please visit the Katy Independent School District’s official website.

Now that you understand the Katy Independent School District’s grading policy, calculate your final grade with our easy-to-use grade calculator or final grade calculator!