Racine School District Grading Policy

Racine School District Grade Scale

Racine School District uses a standards-based grading system for K-5 students. This system measures students’ proficiency in various learning standards. The grading scale is as follows:

Proficiency LevelDescription
1Below Basic
NENot Evaluated


To calculate a student’s final grade, each standard’s score is averaged. For example:

Social Studies3

Final Grade: Proficient (3)

Grading Policy

  • Standards-based grading focuses on students’ mastery of specific skills.
  • Academic performance is separated from behavior and effort.
  • Grades reflect the most recent and consistent level of performance.
  • Regular feedback and opportunities for reassessment are provided.


1. How is standards-based grading different from traditional grading?
Standards-based grading measures students’ proficiency on specific learning standards rather than averaging grades over time.

2. What do the proficiency levels mean?
The levels range from 1 to 4, indicating a student’s mastery of the material, with 4 being advanced and 1 being below basic.

3. How often are grades updated?
Grades are updated regularly to reflect the most recent assessment of student performance.

4. Can students reassess if they score low on an assignment?
Yes, students are provided opportunities to reassess to demonstrate their understanding and improve their grades.

5. How are non-academic factors like behavior graded?
Behavior and effort are reported separately from academic grades.

6. What resources are available for parents to understand this system better?
Parents can visit the Racine School District’s website for more detailed information and resources.

7. How can I calculate my child’s final grade?
Now that you understand Racine School District’s grading policy, calculate your final grade with our easy-to-use grade calculator or final grade calculator!